A medal is just a medal…unless you are 5 years old

Posted on May 25, 2010. Filed under: Capture the moment, What she said | Tags: , , , |

Tonight was the 2nd to last swim class for the spring. She takes 2 different classes, so this was the last Tuesday night class. I thought they might do something for the kids…but I wasn’t expecting how a simple 50 cent medal would change the night.

As class was over the teacher passed out 3 medals to the 3 kids in the class. Maddie got hers first which she later informed me was because she was the best swimmer in the class so got the 1st place medal (I think she purposely ignored the fact that every student in the pool got a medal.) It doesn’t matter, the excitement was seen across her face. She wore the medal with pride and was torn to take it off for her quick shower and change into clothes. As soon as her shirt was on the medal was next…shoes, hair, all that other stuff was definitely less important.

We then headed to Chick-fil-A, for Kids Night. You would have thought that Chick-fil-A brought in the balloon animal maker in anticipation of Maddie’s big medal. She never stopped smiling and our dinner conversation was Maddie telling me all about how hard you have to work to earn a medal. I too couldn’t stop smiling..it was just another one of those nights when you are so thankful for being a Mom.

As we headed home enjoying our orange poodle balloon I got one last treat. Maddie sang her 2 spring program songs for me to practice on last time before tomorrow. There is nothing sweeter than hearing a 5-year-old sing “I’ll buy you a diamond ring my friend if it makes you feel alright….Cause I don’t care too much for money, money can’t buy me love.

I can’t wait till tomorrow!

The prized medal

And the orange poodle

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,252 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

