The last day of school…mom’s experience

Posted on May 28, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , |

This is our first “summer vacation” and today is the last day of school.

It is definitely an emotional experience. On one side my baby is no longer a baby and starting in August she will begin real school. A place she will grow and develop for 13 more years before heading off to college to grow and learn some more. School is going to put more rigor into our schedules….no last minute 3 day weekends. Homework to be done after school.

Yet those are just the background thoughts. Right now balanced with all of Maddie’s excitement for finishing primary class and gearing up for lots of fun this summer I am realizing that for the next few months I am “school”. I am the daily teacher, the daily schedule keeper, the daily event coordinator. Now this is not anything new, but what is new is that now there are 7 more hours of the day, 5 more days of the week, that I have this role to play.

Most of me is overjoyed and excited for all the fun summer memories we are going to make. Yet there is a slight in-trepidation of exhaustion that is settling in. She goes 100 mph non-stop all day. Just yesterday we spent 2 hours in the pool after school, had dance class, swim lessons, and part 1 of our Shrek 4 date night and as soon as I put her down to bed I turned to Todd and said I am ready for bed as well. I think summer is going to bring us many a trip to the pink sand beach. (what my dad used to call afternoon nap time!)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,254 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

