The Heat is on

Posted on June 15, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , , |

It official, the Heat is On. Today was the start of “monsoon” season…but no rain. Just hot.

To document the occasion I got my first burn. Nope not a sunburn. Got my body covered with all the  right levels of sunscreen by the way how in 10 years have we gone from 15SPF to 100SPF?

Ok back to my burn. I burned my hand on the garage door. Now here is the interesting part- it wasn’t t  the outside exposed to the intense sun- it was the inside of the door.

I had just collected all the trash around the house and was taking it out for the night. I watched into the sauna, whoops sorry the garage, and open the door. As I go to unlatch the screen-door my thumb gets burned. Hot, hot, hot. Now the screen-door is metal and black and after further investigation I believe the sun hits that latch- but WOW. It was hot, but I didn’t realize it would leave a mark. It did.

As I walked to the mailbox, enduring the 105 degrees, getting a little sticky – enough to make me think maybe I would get in the pool and scrub the tiles tonight. Just an excuse to cool off from my 15min walk outside. As I am walking back I notice my the big red spot on my thumb. Yep- my first burn. The first of many I imagine. Have decided the pool can wait till tomorrow- after a good hard run. That is if my bum ankle and burned thumb don’t keep me down…is it just Tuesday??? At this rate, with an incident a day, I might want to re-think the Grand Canyon hike.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,254 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

