Intention for your practice

Posted on June 17, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , , , |

So today’s yoga practice instead of giving us a focus as we began our practice the instructor told us to choose our intention for the day. The purpose and focus of our practice for the day. Courage? Strength? Understanding? You choose.

I must admit in that minute where I was to choose my intention I was stumped. So found myself drifting back to that thought during the practice. When I wasn’t focused on making sure I was still breathing or falling over.

I have done yoga on and off since I graduated from college, but since we moved to Scottsdale it has been a regular part of my routine. I do it for many reasons. I love the focus on the body, breathing through the stretches, flowing with your breathe. But most of all I love the way I feel when I am done. I feel relaxed, at peace, and my body feels just incredible. At times it might be sore but a good sore where it feels longer, more spacious. Able to handle what the everyday world has in store for me. I also love that it has become a family activity. We all take part in classes and while we haven’t been able to make it work with the schedule yet will soon be taking a family yoga class together– I can’t wait to do poses together, bringing the 3 of us together as 1.

Yet if I wanted to focus on an intention for the day- one that I would focus on on the mat and off- what would that be. As we left the class our instructor again reminded us to take that intention we focused our practice on and continue to focus on that off the mat. So as I drove away- feeling incredible after a strong flow practice I kept thinking about my intention.

Too late for today’s practice but for the next practice my intention is going to be Courage & Confidence. For those who know me they might find that an odd intention. But the last few years have been really difficult on my inner psyche. The battles of divorce (& custody) can do that to even the strongest person. While that chapter is not fully over, a new better chapter as begun with my lovebugs. So now as life moves forward with such much promise I need to focus on bringing back the courage and confidence that resides in me.  So that is my intention and my focus…for now.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Intention for your practice”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

Love yoga and do it for the same reasons you do. When I get busy and get away from it, I can tell! It beats any workout routine. Glad you were on SITS today chicka. Now onto MY intention…:)


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,254 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

