The tales of the traveling princess

Posted on July 17, 2010. Filed under: What she said |

A few years back MB and I were somewhere for bedtime without a book, so I told her the story. The story a princess who traveled to various places in the world. MB just loved the tales and we went through a time when it was a nightly routine. Read one book and then tell a traveling princess tale. Each night MB would pick the place and I would weave a tale of all the things the princess would see.

It has been a while since we told a traveling princess tale, but tonight at bedtime we found ourselves without any books so we cuddled in to tell a tale. MB immediately said “she goes to Egypt” followed by “don’t name the princess after me, not even my middle name”. Ok so I have my instructions. Our princess of the evening Anna Marie went to Egypt. She saw pyramids, pharaohs, and took a trip down the Nile. A little after our story began TB showed up and snuggled in to hear the tale. While a little rusty on my Pharaoh knowledge as the story unfolded MB wanted to know what a Pharaoh was, what the Nile was, and ending with how they built Pyramids before they had machines.

When I told the first story I never really thought about it much. It was just a bedtime adventure story. As our ritual grew I realized how much these tales were teaching her. All the various places in the world, how things are different, history, geography. I know I am being a proud momma….but it is hard not to when your little 5-year-old asks to have a story about Egypt and who after you talk about them building the pyramids says “yeah its kinda like rock climbing, they had ropes and would pull the stones up, or climb up with a harness”. That’s my girl!

Our next tale will be tamer…the princess is going to California.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “The tales of the traveling princess”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

That is so great! I love all the things our kids learn when we don’t even realize it. I don’t know though, your next story may not be so tame if the princess winds up in Venice beach. 🙂

so true, so true!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,257 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

