Family fun and humidity

Posted on July 22, 2010. Filed under: Capture the moment, Circle of Friends, The places we have been | Tags: , , , , , , , |

A long weekend with family in Indy. 4 little ones ages 5 and under. Lots of giggles, a little whining, and tons of fun. Splash in HIGH humidity and bugs, which in the words of MB: “I know why people move to AZ, so they don’t have bug bites” reminded us that 110 degrees isn’t that bad if the humidity is low.

We spent majority of the weekend poolside at TB’s parents house. Unlike our pool they have a slide and a diving board. MB with her running splits & long jumps and TB doing flips. The favorite was the slide. For the first day it was just normal sliding. The 2nd day brought all different kind of combos. Forwards, backwards, on your stomach, on your back. Then the “big trick” was coming off the slide onto the boogie board and staying up. After lots of lots of practice and being told that I didn’t hold the board right (TB needed to hold the board) she had it mastered and could come down the slide, right to the boogie board and glide across the pool. What fun memories. I  know we are going to hear begging for a slide at our house soon. (wish I could post the video!)

We also had some of TB’s old friends join us with their kids at the pool for a BBQ and more pool time. Water guns were the toy of choice, for the big kids and the little kids!

Outside of the pool the kids played non-stop. I caught the girls practicing cheers in the gym. MB teaching lil Sis “up-up, down-down” with the pom-pom’s. The boys took MB for a ride around the yard in their Caddy. Enjoying summer nights…seeing fireflies. Setting off some pretty impressive fireworks.

We had a family dinner which was full of really good eats. TB’s sister-in-law makes some really good coney sauce. I say this as someone who doesn’t like coney’s but loved her sauce!!! I am waiting for the artichoke dip recipe too- another WOW. Bellies stuffed and the kids are quiet. I go upstairs to check on them and MB says “Mommy, we have been playing a really long time with no arguing, isn’t that great?”. Yes it is and I am running back downstairs quickly so as not to ruin the quiet :).

The visit was short…but one of those that fills your heart and soul with happiness and recharges you for life ahead! Even if I still feel sticky thinking about the humidity!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

10 Responses to “Family fun and humidity”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

Stopping by to say hello from SITS. Looks like a good time was had! My son, looking over my shoulder was in love with your pool slide. We’re in Miami and the humidity here is always a factor. Yuck.

I know my daughter is going to beg and plead for a slide when she gets home. Maybe we will get one if she will trade in her request for a dog (a silly promise I made when she was 2 that she hasn’t forgotten!)

Sounds like a perfect summer weekend! Although 110 degrees makes me want to melt… even without the humidity!

I also have to ask: is that a Colt’s cheerleading outfit? We are BIG Colts fans in this house… love it!

Oh yeah it’s a Colt’s cheerleader. We are big fans too! So expect to see lots of Blue come fall. I am so ready for football season!!!!

What a fun time!

I won’t be showing these pictures to my daughters. They see no reason we can’t put a pool in our back yard. With a slide, even! How awesome is that?

Nope. Not going to let them see this.

Smart move!

Hi – Just thought I would drop by and say hello from the blog hop!

thanks for stopping by, hope you will back!

That looks like so much fun! I’m going to ask for a pool with a slide. 🙂

I’m stopping by to say hello from the Friday Blog Hop. It sounds like you had great fun (with the exception of the humidity.) I love your blog and the organization of it. Have a great weekend!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,254 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

