Meet the teacher

Posted on August 8, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I, What she said | Tags: , , , , , , , , |

I am playing a little catch-up. As I expected, it has been an extremely busy weekend. Friday morning we went to the school’s Meet the Teacher event. They told us to bring in the school supplies with no names. I am so happy we ordered from the school directly- no shopping lists, no making sure I got everything. Paypal and pick-up. Shortcut.

When we got to the classroom Mr. Kindergarten had bins outside labeled for each of the supplies. So while I dug in my purse for my camera TB and MB unloaded our bag into all the right bins.

Notice the water bottle in hand. This girl has hydration down…so we have had to add a “try” bathroom stop on the list when we are out and about. If we see a bathroom we are going to try. So much better than the panicked “I have to go I have to go” in the middle of a store with no potty.

We then headed into the classroom and found her desk. She wouldn’t sit in it and got all shy again. As we meet other parents and kids it was funny to see all the kids holding their parent’s hands tight or standing behind their legs. Each parent would say “what is your name?” and there would be silence…finally you might get the answer in the softest tone you could imagine. I give it a day and the next time we go to the classroom it will be a zoo.

Before we left I went through the bus drop off routine one more time with her to make sure she got it. She played it back to me and I thought we were all good. As we got in the car she told me she was nervous about taking the bus. She had mentioned this earlier– which is why we went through the routine a couple of times. I asked if she remembered what we talked about…and she said in an exasperated tone “I remember that mommy, we did it enough, but who am I going to sit with on the bus. What if nobody sits with me??”

All this time I thought she was worried about where to go…whoops. I smiled at her and held her hand and said I am sure she would find someone fun to sit with and remember you aren’t getting on the bus alone- you will have all your friends from the neighborhood with you too. You could see the temporary sigh of relief come across her face when she realized she could start targeting a seat companion as soon as she got back home.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Meet the teacher”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

It’s so funny what they worry about versus what we worry about. I have an award for you on my blog. 🙂

I know! Thanks for the award…I saw that this morning! Hopefully will be able to “formally” accept it later this evening!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,257 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

