What I learned on my first day of Kindergarten

Posted on August 9, 2010. Filed under: Capture the moment, Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |

Well its official. We are now in school. Kindergarten has begun.

A few things I learned today.

1) A million parents will go the classroom on the first day. Cameras, video, and tears. The principal will have to get them all the leave by saying class is starting. However, if you happen to get to see your little one sitting in their chair at their desk in the big classroom. You will cry. I managed the bus stop ok but the little stop in the classroom. The sweet smile when she saw us there, even though it wasn’t expected. It made me realize that she was a big girl now.

2. I am lucky to be sharing this with someone who is just as caught up in the moment as me. I wasn’t the one doing drive-bys at the school in hopes of seeing MB on the playground. Each time he made my heart swell just a little bit bigger.

3. The little things don’t go un-noticed. I put a little I love you note in MB’s lunch box and while she didn’t say anything at first after being home for a while she says to me “someone put a little note in my lunchbox”, “who did that?”, “you did and it was really sweet”. Enter hug and a few more tears.

4. Expect some independence with what they eat. We had to pack lunch and a snack. When I asked what she ate for her snack turns out she ate her PB&J for the snack and ate the carrots, grapes, cheese as lunch.

5. There is no better feeling then every time you tell someone who MB’s teacher is they squeal with delight and tell you how much you will love him. I heard so many wonderful things about Mr. Kindergarten that I can’t wait to see him live in action.

6. That even if your little one goes to school for years it won’t be the same as their first day of kindergarten. I have not been a SAHM so MB has always been in pre-school. We have done drop off and pick up for years. Yet today it was different. I paced, I could never fully focus and constantly was waiting for her to come home off the school bus. There is no preparation for when they really head off to school.

7. That I have wonderful neighbors. From the first greeting of the day telling MB she looked great for her big day, to the bus stop chatter, to the mom who brought popsicles for all the kids when they got off the bus, till the last neighbor who checked in to see how the day was — and all the other’s that followed it on facebook. It takes a village and I am loving our village.

8. Life is good and I officially have a Kindergartner.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “What I learned on my first day of Kindergarten”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

Now this is something I look forward to, and dread at the same time. Mine will be starting Kindergarten in one year, and I’m not sure I’m ready. And so great that she got a good teacher… that makes all the difference!

Savor this year! I wish I had another one 😦

Following you from Tuesday Tag-Along! Great blog and I’ll be stopping back by!
http://www.ryanchristyandlanden.blogspot.com

Thanks for stopping by..glad you enjoyed it!

I’m loving reading these posts because I hope to be a Kindergarten teacher someday. It really is heartwarming to see parents who care *so* much about their little ones.

Believe it or not, there are far too many families who don’t care the way you and others do.

A kindergarten teacher has to be so rewarding..all those little sponges. Before the cliques and all the other stress. Teachers and parents who care make the perfect team!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,257 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

