Babysitters are so cool

Posted on August 19, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I, What she said | Tags: , , , , , |

Yes, according to my daughter babysitters are the best thing since sliced bread.

Maybe it is cause she really hasn’t had one (from me that is) other than 2 afternoons in the past 5.75 years. Not counting our 2 au pairs for her first 3 years, which she never saw as babysitters.

When I told her that she was going to have a babysitter last night so TB and I could go to parent’s night at her school you would have thought I had given her the world. She was so excited. First thing she said when she woke up was today is babysitter day! I had to laugh- are other kids out there as excited as mine? Or do I need to go out more often?

Either way once she got home from school the countdown began. With the last few minutes watching out the window for her to arrive. Well Miss. K was a hit. MB adored her and couldn’t believe she drove MB’s favorite car– a BUG. The only complaint was that it wasn’t orange.

They played games when I left and found them home with the doll house when I got home. MB was in heaven. And I have found my first local babysitter!

After she drilled us about our time at our school and what her teacher had said about her….I still can’t believe that she is playing an introvert in the classroom. Wonder how long till that stops. We read a story and climbed into bed. Right before our last goodnight hug. MB said she really liked Miss. K since Miss. M wasn’t available (our neighbor down the street) but she would like to try Miss. M next time and maybe she could switch it up with both of them. I have a feeling she thinks if she does that she can get away with more stuff longer 🙂

Anyway, MB also decided that next week TB and I should go out for a long time like to dinner (Chipotle was her pick) on a date and she could stay with Miss. K or Miss. M and when she missed us she would call us and we would come home, but of course we would need to stop and pick up ice cream for her first to bring home.

My daughter forcing us out on date nights….the price a cup of ice cream. Maybe we will have to oblige her.

How often do you use babysitters? When does the coolness wear off?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Babysitters are so cool”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

Babysitters are the best thing since sliced bread… both in my kids’ eyes and mine! We actually had a date night last night, and it was so great getting out. And the kids got to stay up late and have popcorn… bonus for everyone!

sounds like it! For the past 3 years my daughter has been going back and forth during the month to stay with her dad. So her time with me was so precious we never used one. Now that she is with me full-time I can see that changing a bit. Movie and popcorn on a Thursday…that is a bonus!!!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,257 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

