Can’t swim- who me?

Posted on August 19, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I, What she said | Tags: , , , , , , |

Swim Lanes

Image by stevegarfield via Flickr

As I sit at swim lessons tonight and watch MB cupping her hands and rotating her arms with a decent looking freestyle and a strong kick I am amazed.

Now MB has always loved the water and we did lessons now and again in OH and NY since she was 6mths old. However, other than water awareness and comfort we weren’t really swimming in the start of 2010.

When we moved to AZ and got a pool the first thing I did was sign her up for swim lessons. That was a little less than 6mths ago. I was first amazed that after 2 weeks of lessons (30min/week) she was able to make it from one end of the pool to the other and one way or another would get herself to the bottom.

We definitely spend more and more time in the pool now and have progressed to handstands and diving between your legs. Her kick is getting stronger and just this weekend in Havasu with a push on the bottom was able to make it to the bottom of the 9ft pool. She likes to sit on the bottom with TB and pretend to talk….so just a little fish.

While proud of all those little steps, nothing surprised me more than seeing her doing a lap of an actual stroke. It is just amazing to me how in 6 months, going 30/week, she has picked this up. We don’t practice tons at home, if I can get her to do it once a week outside of her lesson I am lucky.

I have to give AquaSafe the credit…a great setup, all of our coaches have been awesome, and she just loves going- especially now that she has a girl coach for the first time.

MB is proud of herself too…after we showered off and changed clothes. I told her how great she looked with her strokes. She gets this big grin on her face, she knows she is doing well, and just says “thanks, Mom” and off we go.

Now since I am talking about swimming…anyone have a thought on what age you stop stripping your child down in the public open co-ed shower? MB showers off with her suit on, I figure one night a week that can work as shower clean…but I have to admit I am a little amazed at the age of some of the naked ones running around?? Am I the weird one????

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “Can’t swim- who me?”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

Hi, here from FFF, my daughter is 3 and while I still strip her down and let her shower after swimming I have been trying to teach her not to linger in her b-day suit. However, we go into the ladies change room so perhaps it’s a bit different in a family change room.

well that makes more sense to me…this is a shower station on the side of the pool. So all the kids get out after lessons ages infant to 6 and 7 or so and strip down, shower and then walk into the building where it is a big hallway and there are changing rooms but everyone just stays outside. For some reason in the building when they are getting dressed it doesn’t bother me but it is the group shower all naked that just makes me try to get MB out of there fast. I am fine with the human body but the last thing I want is MB pointing and asking some question of a little boy in the massive throng of 20+ people 🙂

Hello! I am following you on Twitter (furygirl3132) and through your email newsletter for New Friend Friday, I look forward to reading more of your blog. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Eloise
Mommy2TwoGirls
http://mommy2twogirls.blogspot.com/

thanks for stopping by and following, hope you enjoy! Have a great weekend.

Hi! I am a new follower from Friendly Friday, so glad to have found your awesome blog and I look forward to reading more of your lovely posts. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

http://www.dwivedi2326.blogspot.com

Thanks for stopping…have a great weekend!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,257 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

