Just play

Posted on August 20, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , , , |

Earlier this week I had one of those moments that remind me sometimes you have to take the time to just play.

As a working full-time mom and with the crazy family schedule everyone has sometimes it can be hard. There is work to do, email to read, lunch to pack, laundry, activities, grocery shopping, reading everything in the green folder, watch the clock, cook dinner, get ready for bed, and on and on and on. Then repeat, repeat day after day.

So the days can just run into each other…and even on the weekends while you might play a game or hang out it still doesn’t hit the point of “just playing”.

One day afterschool I did just that. I closed up my computers. I put away the phones. I turned on the stereo and MB and I went outside to the pool. I didn’t try to relax on the raft. I just got in the water and basically did whatever she wanted. We ended up playing for a good hour- diving between each others legs, swimming from one end to the other, making up “routines” as she called them where we just did different water tricks. At the time it was just mindless and I really didn’t think anything of it. TB joined us after 45min and MB had us racing, holding our breath, and then doing an obstacle course around the pool.

After we cleaned up and I went inside to make dinner I realized how relaxed I was. It wasn’t 30min of get in the pool before the next thing. We didn’t worry about the clock, we didn’t worry about what was going on next, I didn’t think about anything on my list. I was 5 and being “best friends” with my favorite 5 year old.

There is not much better in the world than that.

So we all must remember to take time out and just play- no schedule, no intention, no purpose, just play like you are 5 and you don’t have a care or stress in the world.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,252 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

