Why do sharks eat people?

Posted on August 26, 2010. Filed under: What she said | Tags: , , , , , |

Great white shark. Photo by Terry Goss, copyri...

Image via Wikipedia

How about that for a bedtime question.

Yes. That was it.

Last night I had tucked her in after reading a chapter of her first school library book– a princess book of course.

It was quiet for about 10 minutes till I heard her call Mommy.

I figured it was a request for water, a hot blanket, or to be tucked in again.

I am surprised that she hasn’t greeted me in the living room with the request as she usually does. This way she can see that mommy has finally sat her but down on the couch in front of the TV for a moment and turned on some show that she would like to be watching with me. She will then slowly walk back to her room backwards trying to catch as much as she can.

So I head back to her room.

She doesn’t need water or to be tucked in.

Her first words are “Mommy, why do sharks eat people?”

I am speechless. I know the answer but how to I answer this one and not have her scared to go back into the ocean. We are water people and beach brats so that is not an option.

I stay speechless for a while as she looks at me waiting.

Finally I answer sharks sometimes get confused and think people are a fish or they get scared and frightened. I then clarify that they don’t really “eat people” they might bite you and it can really hurt and you have to go to the hospital…but they don’t really eat you.

She was pretty satisfied with the answer. Well she didn’t ask any more questions. And that was that. She went to bed.

Wondered if she dreamed of sharks…or shark attacks.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Why do sharks eat people?”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

Gosh, you were so nice with your comments. I told my kid that sharks are carnivores. Oops!

well a twitter friend told me I should of say they ate little girls that didn’t go to bed. I wish I had used that one!!!! I will next time 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,254 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

