Can it really change that much in 25 years??

Posted on August 28, 2010. Filed under: What she said | Tags: , , , , , |

After just 2 weeks I am wondering what else has changed since I was in Kindergarten????

Tonight at dinner MB was telling me about what she did in Art Class. We were out to dinner and she was for once being really talkative about what was going on in school. I was so happy. Then we came to a stumper. She couldn’t remember the name of the people who they were making necklaces like in Art class. She said you know those people who were around long time ago and they fought with spears?

I said: “Oh, the Indians?”

“No”

“Do you mean the Pilgrims and Indians?”

Immediately she shook her head. “No, not them mommy. You know the old Americans.”

Old Americans?

Oh, wait I got it.

“Do you mean Native Americans?”

“Yes, mom that is it”

Ok so first Pluto is no longer a planet.

We no longer celebrate Christmas but have a Winter Celebration.

And now it is not Pilgrims and Indians but Pilgrims and Native Americans.

I know it is all for good reason…but kinda crazy to think that 25 years ago we did this all with no problem and now it has all been “corrected”.

Not to mention I am going to have to brush up or MB is going to start thinking I am from another planet.

But that is the least of my worries.

The conversation then turned on to who had a crush on L, another girl at our bus stop. Crush?

We are using the word crush in kindergarten. I would actually rather hear boyfriend and girlfriend…I think.

Oh I don’t really think I want to hear any of it…but we talked about the crushes and fortunately for now MB does not have a “crush” or anyone that is “crushing” on her.

Can we make it through the whole year without a crush???? Probably not likely since she already had decided she wants to invite one boy to her upcoming spa/slumber party. It’s the boy at her table…he is nice…though not nice enough at this point to have remembered his name. At least not yet.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Can it really change that much in 25 years??”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

My son heads to Kindergarten next year and I’m sure I’ll have to learn all sorts of politically correct terms. It seems like you can’t say anything these days without offending someone!! I don’t think I’m quite ready for him to go!

So true. I mean no disrespect but seriously it has changed so much in the past 20 years. Kinder send off was tough for me, but not for MB. She is loving it.

What slayed me is that they don’t call them pipe cleaners any more… they are chenille stems! What?? Now THAT is taking the politically correct notion a little too far.

OMG. Chenille Stems…that is too much. How do you keep a straight face with that one?????


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,254 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

