Lists are for Losers….just kidding

Posted on September 6, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , , , , |

Do you ever feel that way?

Everyday I tackle 20 things on my list and feel like I add 30 more. Not to mention the few that I have pushed the date out a little bit further on the calendar. Those dreaded tasks or those that require someone else that I just don’t have the energy for.

The never-ending list.

I am not evening counting my “real work” task list. I am talking about my mom, girlfriend, life list. The one that google has made so easy for me to manage next to our 5 daily calendars. Yes- there are 5. Mine. MB. TB. The school. The tasks. I don’t count the sporting event schedules 🙂

So back to my list.

Sometimes what makes it so hard is the variety of things

1. Find a new church

2. Find orange and pink fabric

3. Register for a new race

4. Passport updates

That is today’s task list. No small tasks.

#2 excites me so that will get done.

#3 requires internet research but then discussion with TB on when we are going to be ready for the next distance challenge

#4 requires interaction with my least favorite person…yeah that will get started, but who knows when it will get done.

#1 where to begin???

So as I look at today’s list I am already defeated. I know I won’t complete all 4 and with the day ahead probably won’t get even one fully complete. Yet in the midst of life there will be 5 other things that get added…then tonight as I review my tasks and the schedule for tomorrow I will move the due date of those tasks forward. Defeat. Pure defeat. But someday I will get to cross it off my list. And that will feel good.

So now I know why I will come home from grocery shopping and cross things off my list. It’s the satisfaction of knowing I got something done today. Even if it just was one stop and all the things were from one store. I will scratch off each item on the list and smile as I do so. Cause there is nothing better than feeling your check something off your list.

To be positive though I am training MB to be a list maker. After hearing enough “oh mommy forgot that, it wasn’t on the list”. MB has taken an interest to knowing where this list is and when she realizes she “needs” or “wants” something she goes to the list and tells me to write it down.

The power of lists. You put fruit sticks on the list. They appear in the pantry.

Now the real question is how long will it take to train TB about the list. 9 months and still hasn’t mastered it. Any bets?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Lists are for Losers….just kidding”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

I’m a big list maker, but I kind of cheat. If I’m going to up to make my bed or take a shower, I will quickly add it to my list so I can cross it off and feel a bit more accomplished. Anything helps, right?

I really like that idea. I think I might start adding sleep to the list…then I will start each morning ahead and not behind 🙂

I do not make lists, but should start. I keep the list in my head and I think I get stressed over that. My Dad was great at lists and checking off everything he accomplished in the day. He was very successful because of it. I think you are right about somethimes the type of things on the list can be hard to check off. Finding a new church takes time. Getting the right fabric can take you to a few places. I am a new follower! Have a great day and stop by Mama’s Little Chick when you get a chance. 🙂

Mama Hen

I love lists! Even with the hard stuff it still eventually will get done and when it does…will feel so good! For now I will be pushing the stuff off for another week or so. Inbox is full and recovering from a wonderful weekend with friends!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,252 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

