Wow I feel like a “Mother” now

Posted on September 15, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , , , , , |

This past weekend I was attending a birthday party of a 1-year-old.

It was a friend of a friend I was visiting.

It was a great low-key party with some great people.

The birthday boy was sitting in his high chair and enjoying some pieces of hamburger.

Mom is in the kitchen making sure all the guests are getting their food. Aunt and Grandma are busy feeding the birthday boy.

I am chatting with friends in the room with the birthday boy.

The Aunt starts screaming “he is choking, he is choking.”

“Mom, Mom- he is choking”

I look over and his face is getting red.

Grandma comes up and starts to pat his back but he is turning redder and his eyes are watering. There is no sound from his mouth.

With wine glass in hand I move from where I am standing and stick my finger in his mouth had do a sweep. The burger bites come out. Birthday boy screams are heard for a second the he calms. I go to the kitchen to wash my hand.

My friend and others were freaking out, you just saved his life. OMG. OMG.

I was un-phased.

That was when I realized I really am a MOM. I know it has been almost 6 years, but this was the moment for me.

I wasn’t stressed. I wasn’t freaked out. It was just a natural reaction. I didn’t even put my wine glass down.

That gut instinct of what to do with the calmness knowing that it was all going to be ok.

Now I don’t need any pats on the back and I don’t really think in my head that I saved his life. I just cleared his mouth. Though I am thankful I did…and the party went back on and fortunately it was low-key enough we didn’t have to stress out the mom too much.  The biggest thing for me is I realize I am a MOM-MOM.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Wow I feel like a “Mother” now”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

I love this story and am so proud of you…and your Mama Kathie would be too! xo

you guys helped make me “a mother!”


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,254 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

