Training for a Half-Marathon

Posted on September 19, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , , , , |

Am I nuts?

Yes, I am.

But I am up for the challenge and really want to see if I can tackle a full Marathon in 2012 so this is the first step.

A friend kinda talked me into it and then I got a few of my neighbors on board and TB too (well almost)

The training plan I got actually looks pretty reasonable, but I still cringe at thinking about running 8 miles let alone 13.

So this week was week 1. Actually week 4 on the plan, but the plan is stair-step from nothing to a 5K, to 10K, to a half.

This week was

Monday- Cross-Train

Tues- Speed Interval Running

Wed- Strength Training

Thur- 30min run

Friday- Rest

Saturday- 2miles

Sunday Rest

So far it is all feeling really good. It is amazing considering I was a non-runner this time last year to find that 30min of running in the AZ hills feels good, but it does.

I actually have been cheating a little and hiking/walking on the rest days…but so far it isn’t hurting so I am going to keep it up. It is my neighbor chat time and I don’t want to give it up…she would love to train with me but being pregnant puts her out this year.

I am laughing as I write this as I expect in about a month you are going to read some pretty miserable, whinny posts, but for now I am in high spirits.

Here we go…..

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Training for a Half-Marathon”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

Good for you! I want to run a full, but haven’t started any training yet. Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

have you done a half before? They do this race every Jan so I am thinking a half this year and if I survive go after the full in 2012.

Awesome! I think I’m doing one in April 2011. When is your date?

Jan 2011….very very soon!!!!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,254 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

