Running in Florida

Posted on September 24, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , , , |

So I am on week 2 of my training plan.

This week it is

Monday- Strength Training

Tuesday- Run 35 min

Wed- Cross Training 30-45

Thursday- a speed/interval workout

Saturday- run 3 miles

I am in Florida for the Tuesday run and OMG…running flat is so different. I got outside and started running and it felt like I could run forever…not really but I definitely was feeling a lot stronger than I do at home. The hills I met were like ant hills so nothing that really slowed me down…it shaved about 45 seconds of my pace and just felt so good. Now the humidity was a different story- I don’t believe I have every sweat that much. Cleaned the pores out for sure.

It was funny running through campus. I was not a runner in college. It just wasn’t even something I thought of. As I ran and enjoyed how beautiful the campus was I thought what a waste. I had so much more time in college and was 10 years younger than I am today…why didn’t I ever get out and run.

Well there are probably a million reasons, (like sleeping in versus getting up at 6am for a run) but one I realized was back then I used to workout inside a lot. In fact for so long it was always working out inside. That was till the stress of life got to be so much and I felt like I spent all of my life indoors- sitting behind a desk or in a meeting room for most of the day. I craved the fresh air and openness to release that stress. I didn’t have that feeling in college. I am lucky that I live somewhere now where I can run outside as I realize that part of what makes me love the sport is that I am outside doing it.

I would never have taken on the half-marathon challenge if I was doing it on a treadmill. Never. Never.

Looking forward to my speed workout on Thursday. Not just because I will get to do it sans hills…but because I am looking forward to getting one last glance around campus via the eyes of a runner.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,252 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

