Going back to campus

Posted on September 26, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , , , , , |

So it has been 10 years. 10 years since I was back in my old college stomping ground. 10 years since I walked the halls of Weil Hall (Engineering building).

Hard to believe.

It was an awesome experience.

Sitting at a table with the deans and department heads of the College of Engineering. Talking to the new head of the Dept of ISE- now more as peers. What an incredibly cool experience. I remember the days when the dean and the professors were scary to me…and here I seat as their equal in a conference room. They wanted something from me…not the other way around. It was very cool.

I walked through the campus. Wishing I took more photos. I walked by the Swamp. I spent hours in the O’Connell Center. The trees had grown. The spanish moss was more beautiful then I remember. The ivy on the brick buildings was outstanding. In my eyes the campus had gotten prettier with age.

The Reitz Union was so different. A new food court that looked like I was in the middle of a mall or airport. Starbucks right there in the middle. OMG what would have college been like if I had Starbucks??????

10 years. Here I walk confident, happy, and content with the direction my life is taking. 10 years ago I walked happy, unsure and unaware of what lay ahead.

I enjoyed expensive bottles of wine. No more 25 cent pitchers– though I wouldn’t have been too proud to go that route :). In fact I wonder why our happy hours are just $1 off beers…why can’t I get some of those 25 cent pitchers please!

I sat with newly made friends and laughed so hard my stomach muscles ached. Same ache, same bar….10 years later.

I saw the kids out on first dates. The boys cruising to pick up the ladies. The gaggle of girls hoping to get picked up. Oh boy college life.

I talked with kids who were so nervous, hoping to find a job, no knowing what to expect, what lay ahead in life. No idea what the next 10 years would look like. While I sat there thinking about how that one conversation set me on the path to where I sit now 10 years later.

Wow. There are no other words, but wow.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,257 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

