Ironing the Vests

Posted on October 10, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , , , |

After our first meeting it was clear the girls were really excited for their uniforms and needed that to really feel like a troop. I can understand that.

So we had a few days between our first meeting and our family meet and greet so I decided I would get the uniforms to pass out that day…knowing it would make the girls so happy and excited.

Well I went down to the GS store and picked up the vests and badges and such. I knew the reaction before I even got home.  MB looks at the plain blue vest and said “that’s it?”

I explained to her and showed her the badges including our troop number that would be ironed on to the vest and she seemed to understand, but I knew I couldn’t have 12 little girls with that reaction over the weekend.

So I got out my iron. If you remember I don’t iron. And proceeded to iron onto 12 little blue vests:

1) An American Flag

2) Our GS Council Badge

3) Our 3 digit troop number

The first couple took some time but then I got into a routine and they went a little smoother. Still seriously it was over 2 hours or so of unwrap, iron, flip, iron, edge iron repeat. If that isn’t love for my little troop I don’t know what is.

But it was all worth it. We got to the park and I passed out the vests. No “that’s it??” just a whole bunch of very excited girls putting on their vests and showing off to their parents.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,254 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

