Let’s get our speed on

Posted on October 11, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , , , , , |

Ok here comes the cheesy running girl. I am getting pumped about the idea of running this half-marathon and love to keep challenging myself with increasing my distances and paces.

Today was a speed workout. Half-mile fast, half-mile easy for about 3.5 miles. It’s funny…I realized after my warm up that was half the distance of a normal daily run that I was just getting started and I wasn’t even feeling anything. Then I got my speed on. My first half mile was a 9min/mile pace my 3rd half mile was a 9min 18 second mile pace. Wow! To date I have been doing anywhere from 11 to 11:30 min/miles. Today’s 3.5 miles were collectively at a 10:30min pace. I guess those trainers know what they are doing with the speed workouts.

I have one of these type of workouts each week as I increase the distance and I can see how over time this is going to overall speed up my base running pace. The funny thing as I finish I was smiling looking forward to my weekend long and easy run. Did I just say easy run????

Yes I did. Actually my next goal is to get to a distance that TB can’t manage 🙂

He has been super busy lately and hasn’t been able to keep up with the training. Last weekend he just got up and ran 4miles on Sunday with none of the other training. (I think he first run in 2 weeks) Oh I might of already complained about that. Anyway I can’t wait till he tries to go out and run the current distance and can’t.

Just a little competitive I know….but it is just so frustrating! to work so hard and then have him go do it without a bit of training. So come on 8 miles…that will stump him….I hope!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Let’s get our speed on”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

Awesome job! As painful as it is, they just might know what they are talking about!

just got back from another speed workout. Reps of 2 min fast, 2 min slow. Felt really good. Got TB out there with me and he was struggling due to a long boys weekend 🙂 How is your training going?


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,252 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

