Real family knows no distance

Posted on October 15, 2010. Filed under: Me, Myself, and I | Tags: , , , , , , , |

It occurred to me this week as it has in the past that my family knows no distance. The family that raised me and the family I am helping raise. At this very moment in time everyone is my immediate family is in a different state. Yes, 6 states. Well actually 5 states in 1 country, and 1 in another country.

Yet I feel just as close to them as if I had them all sitting around the dinner table. Now don’t get me wrong– I would love the have the latter. And I am counting down the days, hours, minutes until the 3 lovebugs are back at the table together.

But it doesn’t change how I feel. They could be anywhere in the world but they are right there beside me and I know it.

Over the past couple years that concept of family knowing no distance has been challenged. Challenged by the likes of those that don’t know what real family and love are all about. Real family doesn’t mean being there for the birthday party show. Real family doesn’t mean showering with gifts. Real family doesn’t mean talking every day.

Real family can be all of those things, but it is also more.

Real family is knowing that you might not talk for weeks or months but if in the middle of the night you need to talk you can call them. You can count on them to be there in whatever way you need them. Real family is constant, loving, dependable, and fufilling.

Real family can live on memories and moments when you are apart. When you are apart you miss but you know soon again you will all be under the same roof and wether it has been 1 day, 1 week, 1 month, or 1 year nothing will have changed. You will all fall into the same routine that you had the last time you were together.

You can laugh, cry, hope, dream, and hurt together.

I was blessed with a wonderful family that showed me family knows no distance.

And as I said good night to my little lovebug over the phone and she pinky promises she will look at the stars tonight before she goes to bed I know my little family knows no distance either. For MB those stars in the sky are the reminder that we are there with her always no matter where she is…one day she won’t need the stars to remind her.

Real family knows no distance.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Real family knows no distance”

RSS Feed for The Adventures of LoveBugs Comments RSS Feed

Beautifully said. We experienced this last weekend after a death in the family. Even though we had not seem some of our family in over a year, it was like no time had passed.

Sorry for your loss…but glad to know that you have the same closeness with your family to keep you strong.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Follow on Twitter

  • Grab my Button

    Photobucket
  • # of Visits to the LBs

    • 3,252 and counting

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

